Seven Illinois Physics Graduate Students Selected as 2022-2023 Mavis Future Faculty Fellows

5/1/2022 11:09:17 AM

Lance Cooper

Illinois Physics PhD students Darshan Chalise, Chandana Gopalakrishnappa, Dongbeom Kim, Colin Lualdi, Yinchuan Lv, Julian May-Mann, and Soho Shim have been selected as Mavis Future Faculty Fellows for the 2022-2023 academic year. This program is designed to help doctoral students in the College of Engineering become the next generation of great engineering faculty.

Darshan is a PhD student in David Cahill's group, Chandana is a PhD student in Seppe Kuehn's group, Dongbeom is in Gina Lorenz' group, Colin is in the Kwiat group, Yinchuan is in Fahad Mahmood's research group, Julian is in Taylor Hughes' research group, and Soho is in Nadya Mason's research group. This record number of 7 Illinois Physics graduate students selected for the Mavis program join current Illinois Physics graduate students Luis de Jesus Astacio, Garrett Williams, Mark Hirsbrunner, Pranjal Ralegankar, Preetha Sarkar, Elle Shaw, and Varsha Subramanyan as recent/current Mavis Future Faculty Fellows.