Zaghoo wins MIT ASO Undergraduate Award


Mohamed Zaghoo, undergraduate physics major, was honored on April 11 by the Arab Students' Organization at MIT at their sixth annual Science and Technology Awards Banquet.

"The MIT Arab Students' Organization Science and Technology Awards Banquet aims to recognize exceptional Arabs and Arab-Americans who have made noteworthy contribution to the fields of science and technology," said Hussam Busfar, president of the MIT Arab Students' Organization. "These individuals, with their exceptional talent and contributions, make us proud and help to change some of the negative images associated with Arabs in recent years."

Zaghoo was nominated by Dr. A. Ibrahim, his research adviser at the MIT Kavli Institute for Astrophysics and Space Research, for his 2008 summer work on the emissions from soft gamma-ray repeaters, a type of neutron star.  He returned to MIT in the winter, when his paper, "Probing the spectral evolution of SGR 1900+14 with Swift" (with Y. AbdelAziz and A. Ibrahim) was presented.

Other awardees at the April 11 gala were Mostafa El-Sayed, Regents Professor in the School of Chemistry and Biochemistry and director of the Laser Dynamics Laboratory at Georgia Institute of Technology (Lifetime Achievement Award); Sami Shalabi, member of the technical staff at Google (Young Professional Award); and Haitham Ahmed, an MPH candidate at the Department of Health Policy and Management at the Harvard School of Public Health and an MD candidate at Dartmouth Medical School (Graduate Student Award).


Recent News

  • Faculty News

Kevin Pitts of the University of Illinois has been named chief research officer at Fermilab National Accelerator Laboratory beginning March 1. His focus will be on oversight for the international Deep Underground Neutrino Experiment, including advancing scientific excellence across the laboratory through strong communication, collaboration and coordination with the Department of Energy and other partners. He joins the laboratory as it prepares to usher in a new era of science and innovation in particle physics research and discovery. Pitts joins Fermilab after 22 years with the University of Illinois where he was most recently the vice provost for undergraduate education and a professor of physics in the Grainger College of Engineering. He has a long history working on experiments at Fermilab, including participation in the discovery of the top quark in 1995.  Additionally, he has been serving on the Long Baseline Neutrino Committee since 2016.

  • Accolades

Illinois Physics Senior Academic Advisor Merissa Milton has been selected for the University of Illinois 2021 Campus Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Advising.

Recipients of this award are recognized for their excellence in and innovative approaches to undergraduate advising, and for having had a major impact on undergraduate students and their intellectual development through sustained academic advising relationships. The award, part of the Campus Awards for Excellence in Instruction program, will be presented to Milton at the annual Celebration of Teaching Excellence in May.

  • Accolades

SABR is pleased to announce the 2021 recipients of the Henry Chadwick Award, established to honor the game’s great researchers — historians, statisticians, annalists, and archivists — for their invaluable contributions to making baseball the game that links America’s present with its past.

Alan Nathan (1946 – ) has been a professor of physics at the University of Illinois since 1977, with a specialty in experimental nuclear/particle physics. Now a professor emeritus, Nathan has spent the past quarter-century creating a body of knowledge around the physics of baseball. His extensive research and numerous articles, in particular on the collision between the bat and ball and the flight of the baseball, has dramatically expanded our quantitative understanding and visualization of baseball’s most fundamental interactions. Beyond the physical interactions themselves, Nathan’s research has examined their implications, from how a batter’s swing might be optimized to the insights extractable out of the data explosion from ballpark-installed technologies.

  • Accolades

The American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering (AIMBE) has announced the election of University of Illinois Professor of Bioengineering and Bliss Faculty Scholar Sergei Maslov, to its College of Fellows. Maslov holds an affiliate appointment at Illinois Physics and is a member of the Carle R. Woese Institute for Genomic Biology on the Urbana campus.
Maslov was nominated, reviewed, and elected by peers and members of the College of Fellows for his contributions to computational biology including microbiome dynamics, microbial and viral ecology, genomics, and studies of complex biological networks.